Painted wine glasses

Posted: May 8, 2009 in Arts & Crafts
Tags: , , , , ,

My sister and I were talking about how fun it would be to have a collection of festively painted wine glasses instead of  boring clear ones. There are certainly several place out there where you can buy some beautiful ones but a part of me wanted to try it out for myself. I’m a crafty person….sort of. So I  bought the supplies and got after it last night. Behold my first creation. I took the easy route for the first time. Geometric shapes and letters. I found out that it’s harder than you’d think to paint on glass. The paint dries really quickly so you have to move fast. It was fun to do and I’ll probably do more. Maybe I’ll even improve my technique along the way ….. or branch out into something other than dots for a design. For now, I still need to cook this glass in the oven to set the paint before it’ll be considered finished. I’m curious as to how that will effect the look of it. Will it make the paint smoother and clearer? Will it make it bubble up some? Will it change the intensity of the color? All things to find out. I’ll have to let you know what happens.

UPDATE: Just to let you know if you are interested, cooking the glass did not change the look of the paint at all. I thought it might melt together and look smoother but it didn’t. What you see when you put the glass into the oven is what you get when you take it out.

Painted wine glass

Painted wine glass

Comments
  1. Madhavi says:

    It’s beautiful…. Jenny…. Was just browsing through some arts and crafts blogs and I bunped into yours… I think it’s pretty 🙂

    Cheers

    • JennyBS says:

      Thank you, Mads. It was fun to do. I was looking at your gallery as well. Really neat things that you are doing with found objects. I like!

  2. Madhavi says:

    Thanks Jenny… what else do you paint? I had similar problems while painting glass bottles… the brush marks kinda stays on… hoping to get better and also do some more 🙂

    • JennyBS says:

      Yeah. The business of painting on glass was definitely not as easy as I thought it would be. But maybe with practice….

      I really haven’t painted much of anything (other than the walls in our house) since college. But lately I’ve had this bug to try and do more creatively. Between watching Martha Stewart and all her crafty ideas on the Today Show and looking at the great things at Arts & Crafts fairs, I’ve been wanting to turn “I could do that.” into “I’m going to do that.” I’ve decided there’s just no reason I can’t give it a try.

  3. Paul Bravo says:

    Hey Lady – nice glass! Seriously, pretty darn cool. Better than I’ve seen at most crafties…

  4. Becky says:

    This looks great.
    I paint myself, and just started working at a gift shop, and they mentioned how they’d like it if I could start painting wine glasses, but I have no idea “how”. I see you basically started with the same idea as me…
    So, if I can ask, what type of paint did you use/buy? Were the baking directions on the box of paint?

    Thanks 🙂

    • jennybachsmith says:

      Hi Becky,
      Sorry for the delay getting back to you about this. For painting the glass, I just went to Michael’s and bought some Vitrea 160 paint that is specifically for glass. It’s a little hard to work with as it dries really fast so it’s hard to take your time with the process. I’m not sure if there are better paints out there or just a better technique. I recently bought some Vitrea paint thinner but I haven’t tried it yet. Maybe that will buy a little more time for details.

      As far as the cooking instructions, they are written in the directions on the bottle (if I remember correctly). I was a little nervous about it but it worked out fine. I thought for sure the glass was going to explode in my stove.

      I just found this website which gives further info on the paints. Hope this helps.
      http://www.glass-fusing-made-easy.com/pebeo-vitrea.html

  5. […] painted wine jennybachsmith.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

