Primary sunflower

Posted: June 5, 2009 in Photography
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I love this image. This is what it looked like directly out of my camera. I did no post processing on the computer. The colors are that rich. This photo demonstrates one of the reasons I was so hesitant to give up shooting film. Some things you just can replicate in digital. The film I used for this sunflower was Velvia. I can’t remember if it was 50 or 100. The colors are AMAZING. The sky was that blue (in Ohio….who’d a thought it??!) and the flower was that yellow. Looking at it again makes me want to go and shoot some more Velvia. Problem is that it’s so darn hard to get it processed nowadays. People just aren’t doing E-6 anymore. Last roll I shot, I had to send to Chicago and it cost me about $25 just for processing and shipping. Not exactly cost effective. So instead, I’ll keep shooting my digital and look back fondly at these old images. I’ll think how great it was….”back when I was a kid.”

The sun comes up, it's Tuesday morning.

The sun comes up, it's Tuesday morning.

Leave a Reply

