Sky High Portraits

Posted: July 21, 2009 in Camp, Photography
Tags: , , , ,

I rented an awesome camera lens when I went to camp this year. It’s one that I’ve been wanting to buy but it’s super expensive and is taking me a while to save up for. So, for now, I decided I’d give it a trial run to see if I actually like it.

A guy at work told me about lensrentals.com. So far, it’s been a fantastic experience. I rented the Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS lens for two weeks. That lens runs anywhere from $1500-$1700 brand new. The rental plus shipping both ways and insurance came to about $165. I thought that was pretty damn good.

At first I didn’t think I’d like it because it’s so darn cumbersome. But after a couple of days, I got used to it and ended up loving it. It offers a little more zoom than my normal lens (currently 135mm). But the best thing is that the images are SOOO clear and sharp. It’s amazing. Not to mention, I look like a bad ass carrying it around. I’ll throw a couple photos up here that I took with it. Enjoy!

Claire

Claire

Noah and his mudbug...aaaaeeeeeeeee!

Noah and his mudbug...aaaaeeeeeeeee!

Kelly

Kelly

Madison and Sierra with dandelions

Madison and Sierra with dandelions

Tatiana eating watermelon

Tatiana eating watermelon

Grady in McDonald's Playplace balls

Grady in McDonald's Playplace balls

CJ at the beach party....COWABUNGA, DUDE!

CJ at the beach party....COWABUNGA, DUDE!

Comments
  1. Kim Davalos says:

    Wow, what great pics! I’d say that lens will be a great asset and it was so smart to test-drive it! All of those kids are just too cute 🙂 It looks like you had a great time at camp.

  2. Paulie says:

    Hey Tiger –

    That lens really is worth the weight. I pretty much jut leave it on my camera. Now if I just knew how to really use it…

Leave a Reply

