Fire in the sky and a windmill

Posted: September 9, 2010 in Photography, texture
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I tried a different approach to the textures this time. Instead of having discernible images like bricks or rocks or grass, I decided to intentionally blur the images I was taking. Like….big. Lots of blur! I didn’t want to be able to make out what I was shooting at all. I made it all about the lights and darks. Then I used those blurry images and placed them over this lovely windmill photo. Result is kind of cool. Kind of dreamlike. Kind of fiery.

Windmill texture

Here’s how I did it. I took my original windmill photo…

Original windmill

…and I ran a Vintage action on that I got from The Pioneer Woman website. (I love that website!) The Vintage action is housed in the Pioneer Woman Action Set 1 – UPDATED link. There are some other cool actions in Action Set 2 but that’s not what this post is about. So anyway. Yes. Vintage.

This is how it looks now.

Windmill with Vintage action

THEN….I took this mustard colored texture (seen below) and put it on a layer on top of the vintage photo. I changed the mode (in the layers palette) to Overlay and left the opacity at 100%.

mustard texture

And THEN…..I put another texture, this sky and trees…if you will…on top of the mustard colored one for, as my Dad would say, shits and giggles. I set the mode for this layer on Overlay as well and left the opacity at 100%.

Sky texture

Voila! Hot fiery windmill photo…..whatever that means.

Final windmill
Comments
  1. Christopher says:

    Ok, I am impressed. Really impressed.

Leave a Reply

