Aspen gold quest

Posted: September 22, 2010 in Photography, Vacations/Travel
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I just got back from Telluride, Colorado. I must live there. I must.

It was beautiful. And peaceful. And stunning. And, did I say beautiful?! All the Aspens were well on their way to turning a brilliant gold. We were just a few days shy of peak colors. The first day we were there, there were small patches of yellow popping up. Every single morning, we’d get up and remark about the degree of chance since the day before. It almost looked like the yellow hue was slowly spilling out onto the other green leaves. I think if we were there three more days, we would have seen almost all gold. I’m not complaining, of course. It was still stunning.

Holding out until the end

There’s something about Aspens that intrigue me. I like them more than the average tree out there. Maybe it’s because an Aspen grove is, if I’m not mistaken, the largest single organism on the planet. The whole grove shares one common root system. Or maybe it’s because when the wind blows through the leaves, I can close my eyes and think of all the people who have passed before me. And when I take the time to listen, it sounds like they are giving applause and cheering me on.

Comments
  1. Telluride is amazing! I lived in Colorado for 8 years – Colorado Springs, though. It’s a beautiful place and these is a stunning reminder of that beauty! Great shot!

  2. iheartfilm says:

    Aspens are so great, especially in fall. I love how the leaves sound like they’re faintly clapping in a light breeze.

  3. Kim says:

    Beautiful! I’m glad you live in C-bus.

  4. I really like your aspen leaf image…. curious what it would cost to get a one-time use of it. I work for the Town of Telluride, and I am working on a brochure (to inform electors on new voting procedures — boring topic, but fall related, thus the interest in the aspens). We will print 1500-2000 copies and mail it to Telluride voters. Please contact me and let me know if this would be possible!

Leave a Reply

